{Happy} Anniversary

20131001-115737.jpg

Two years ago today, October 1st, I married my best friend. It was a beautiful day just like it is now. Fall in Iowa is beautiful and is unlike any other time of the year. The sun was shining, the leaves were changing, and all you needed was a light jacket by the end of the night.

My husband and I woke up this morning knowing it was going to be a hard day. He looked at me and smiled and said, “Happy Anniversary” as if knowing that there wasn’t a hole lot of happy in it.

When I first found out I was pregnant, I envisioned our anniversary as our last little time we had before the two of us became the three of us. I pictured myself very pregnant, swollen, and just plain uncomfortable. I figured we would go out for dinner and all we would talk about was getting ready for when our sweet boy would arrive.

How things have changed…

October 1, 2011, we recited our vows in front of our family, friends and God. We vowed that we would have and hold each other from that day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, until death do us part. If two years ago today, I would have known what I know now and what our life would be like – I wouldn’t change it.

I have the best husband I could ever ask for and I couldn’t be where I am today without him. We have shared so many happy moments together and will share many more down the road. Right now it’s just hard to see down that long road ahead.

Here are a few of my favorite pictures of our wedding day. Some are professional pictures and some are candids.

It is almost hard to imagine myself ever being that happy. I know I will get there again, but it will just take time.

wedding weddingdad weddingchurch

weddinggirls                weddingcarriage

weddinghorses  weddinggroup

weddingmom          weddingoutside weddingtable            weddingtwins weddingwalkingout                weddingbefore weddingheadtable weddingjump

weddinglanterns            weddinggroup weddingfireworks       weddingemilyb weddingemilyr        weddingjulia weddingyay!

3 thoughts on “{Happy} Anniversary

  1. The boots are awesome! Happy anniversary – mine is on the 7th 🙂 zit seems you’re a week ahead of me on everything. If you tell me your birthday is January 24th I’m going to start getting creeped out lol.

  2. Just saw this post, it is so odd!!! But no, my birthday is in May – so don’t get creeped out! Lol.

    I’m a cowgirl at heart and wore cowboy boots under my dress 🙂 I have 6 horses here in Iowa and the two white ones in the picture are mine – Jesse & James.

    Thanks for being there for me. I wish we didn’t have to do this journey, but I’m glad I’m doing it with you!

Leave a Reply

