Day 22: Words – Capture Your Grief

Sometimes the most comforting words come from a book that I need to pick up more in my life. The most comforting words come from a few short chapters of this large book, but these short chapters speak volumes to me.

The most comforting words come from my own personal bible, from the book of Jonah. I love to read Jonah’s whole story, but Jonah’s Prayer in Chapter 2 is my favorite. During my sweet boy’s funeral, we read the first and second chapters of Jonah. My priest did an amazing job of describing the place that Drew and I are in right now, this dark and lonely place, is much like the belly of the fish of which Jonah was swallowed up into.

Jonah called out to the Lord and He answered him. He commanded the fish to spew Jonah upon dry land. I know if I keep my faith and call out to the Lord, He too will save me from this dark place – just like he did for Jonah.

jonahbible

Leave a Reply

