Dreams

grandpa mel

A few weeks before we found out there were complications with our pregnancy, I had a dream about Jonah. In the dream my Grandpa Mel was holding my baby and smiling. I couldn’t see Jonah, but my Grandpa Mel had him all swaddled and was rocking him.

My grandpa died about 10 years ago and since his death I’ve had many dreams about him on and off throughout the years. When I had the dream, I woke up thinking, ‘Grandpa got to meet my baby!’ and it just made me smile. Since Jonah died, I have looked at the dream differently. I’ve thought about how grandpa was taking care of him and it has kind of made me feel at peace. Maybe it was a sign? Who knows, but all I know is that Jonah is with his grandparents in heaven where they are all taking good care of him until Drew and I get there someday.

Every night when Drew and I go to the cemetery to say goodnight to our sweet boy, I ask Jonah to please visit me in my dreams again. It’s almost like I need to see him again and know that he is ok. I can’t explain it in words very well, but my heart is longing to know that he is doing ok.

‘Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.’ Psalm 37:4

5 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. Wanna hear something random? While my grandmother was dying three year’s ago she kept talking about how she was going to see my boy – we put it down to the morphine, but she was insistent that she was going to see her grandson, and why wouldn’t I show him to her. It comforts me that she’s looking after him now.

  2. Sometimes I imagine Taidgh and Jonah playing together… gives me peace and comfort. To know he has a friend in heaven 🙂 I hope that’s not crossing a line for you, but it brings a smile to me.

Leave a Reply

