Listen

91c44baa45033e08bcdfdc12c9e1929a

‘Please hear of my lost love. Nothing you can do will make it better. Nothing you can say will make the hurt go away. So just listen while I tell you the significance of a love that left a hole in my heart.’

All anyone wants in life is to be listened to and acknowledged by those around them. My grief is like a balloon gradually filling with air and then, suddenly, exploding. Sometimes my feelings get to the point of an overwhelming state and my thoughts stack up in my mind. The pain intensifies. And then, when someone simply listens as I talk – the pressure flows out. The simple release of my spoken words deflates the pressure.

During my grief process, I need those around me to listen to my story and acknowledge it. You will never make my pain go away, but by listening and acknowledging my story and my grief – it will make a difference.

After all, I am Jonah’s mommy. Nothing is more important to me then telling the story of my Jonah and his short, but beautiful life.

3 thoughts on “Listen

  1. This is exactly what I need. It’s part of why I blog. I need to get our story out. I need others to acknowledge Noah’s short life.

    I love hearing about your Jonah too. All our sweet lost babies.

    • Nothing anyone can do will take the pain away, but listening and acknowledging our babies helps so much. I think it is just such a sad, sad thing that some people just don’t know what to do. I know they don’t mean to hurt us intentionally – but it still hurts.

      I love to read about Noah too. I can imagine them both playing together in heaven 🙂 Sending hugs your way!

Leave a Reply

