It Comes In Waves

 

“Grief is like the ocean; it comes on waves ebbing and flowing. Sometimes the water is calm, and sometimes it is overwhelming. All we can do is learn to swim.”

Sometimes the waves are just there to tickle my feet and remind me of what happened and all that is lost, but then again there are times when the waves of grief come crashing in like tidal waves hitting me and knocking me to my knees. Reminding me of how bad the pain still hurts and how alone I really am. And how empty my arms really are.

Those days I feel like I’m drowning and yelling for help – yet there is no one around to stretch out their hand…

 

Today I’m floating as the waves crash on.

3 thoughts on “It Comes In Waves

  1. Beautifully stated. I found myself in a tidal wave last night and as fast and hard as the grief came, it was done, and I was left with wet cheeks and a broken heart. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

